Waving the white Flag to Matt Lucas

Image

A lazyful Sunday evening just gone somehow led me to half-heartedly watching BBC One’s The Matt Lucas Awards. Now I am not one for Matt Lucas or many of his comedic off-spring like Little Britain and Come Fly with Me and I am DEFINITELY not one to revel in any slapstick comedy like the aforementioned comedy shows. As a result, I have spent many a time tarnishing Matt Lucas with the slap-stick therefore rejecting The Matt Lucas Awards completely. HOWEVER to my complete erroneous judgement, I am fully mistaken. I battled (for 60 minutes) with my stubborn reluctance to laugh, whilst submerging into a vortex of giggles and repetitive “that’s so true” while watching this.

It appeared to be a compilation of best bits from his second series of this show, offering an array of guest comedians whom most of the time I do not gel-in-humour with. With that being said the feeling of disappointment when the end credits rolled was indicative of my indefinite enjoyment as a viewer.

The Matt Lucas Awards seems to be sibling to the likes of Room 101 and the short-lived King of…which I find myself re-in-acting on a daily conversational basis with my closest friend. Therefore my adoration of Matt Lucas’ Award show now deems to be serendipitous.

For those who may be unfamiliar with said programme, comedians will come heavy with grievances from their everyday; pitching as a nomination for each of Matt Lucas’ Awards. These could be anything ranging from; “the worst day of the year”, or “most ridiculous British Law,” all of which the viewer will find some familiarity, similar passionate grievance or complete disagreement with.

The show’s most appealing element is its unconscious interactivity with its audience. Without intention I found myself discussing each subject with my living room congregation, making it one of the simplest forms of entertainment.

Overall, I hold my hands up with my tail between my legs and admit defeat to declare that The Matt Lucas Awards is a cracking show and not one to be underrated.

Leave a comment